First solar polar crossing

The Nunavut

nuvanut03

In Canada’s Far North, on an area about four times the size of France, the Inuit have the absolute powers as regards education of health, environment, economy and policy.

A territory created on April 1st, 1999

The creative process of the territory of Nuvanut (“” Our land “”, in inuktitut) is new. It was the first agreement of the kind between a Western government, the Canadian federal power, and an indigenous minority, the Inuit one, concerning the political organization. The first general elections took place on February 15th, 1999 and on April 1st, 1999 was born Nunavut with Iqaluit for capital. Inuit,” the Men” as they call themselves were finally recognized on the ground of their ancestors.“People of the cold” for four thousand years, but only autonomous for about ten years.

30,000 Inuit still live there for a great part of hunting and the fishing season

Twenty-eight communities turned into a sedentary population, which means approximately thirty thousand Inuit, live on this immense territory. Not one Inuk (singular of “” Inuit “”) lives today in an igloo. The plane, the skidoo, television has reshaped the community which is looking ahead. However, hunting and the fishing season remain essential activities.

The History of the Northwest passage is part of the Inuit inheritance

Many sites testify the passage of those who the Arctic their ground of predilection, such as explorers, adventurers, cartographers, scientists or pioneers hired by the Company of Hudson Bay or whalers Scot. All were looking for the mythical Northwest passage. Deeply indifferent during centuries to all this effervescence, the Inuit are aware today that this history is also part of their inheritance.

1ère traversée solaire polaire

Le Nunavut

nuvanut03

Dans le Grand Nord canadien, sur un territoire grand comme quatre fois la France, les Inuit disposent des pleins pouvoirs en matière d’éducation de santé, d’environnement, d’économie et de politique.

Un territoire ’’ créé ’’ le 1er avril 1999

Le processus de création du territoire du Nuvanut (‘’ Notre terre ‘’, en inuktitut) est inédit. Ce fut le premier accord de la sorte entre un gouvernement occidental, le pouvoir fédéral canadien, et une minorité autochtone, les Inuit, pour ce qui concerne l’organisation politique. Les premières élections générales ont eu lieu le 15 février 1999 et le 1er avril 1999 naissait le Nunavut avec Iqaluit pour capitale. Ceux qui se sont désignés comme les Inuit, ‘’ les Hommes ‘’, étaient enfin reconnus sur la terre de leurs ancêtres, ‘’ Peuple du froid ‘’ depuis quatre mille ans, autonomes depuis un peu plus de dix ans.

30 000 Inuit y vivent encore pour une grande part de la chasse et la pêche

Vingt-huit communautés, sédentarisées, soit environ trente mille Inuit, vivent sur cet immense territoire. Plus un seul Inuk (singulier de ‘’ Inuit ‘’) ne vit aujourd’hui dans un igloo. L’avion, le skidoo, la télévision ont bousculé une société qui se projette vers l’avenir. Pourtant, la chasse et la pêche demeurent des activités essentielles.

L’Histoire du passage Nord-Ouest fait partie du patrimoine des Inuit

De nombreux sites témoignent du passage de ceux qui avaient fait de l’Arctique leur terrain de prédilection, qu’il s’agisse des découvreurs, aventuriers, cartographes, savants ou encore des pionniers de la Compagnie de la baie d’Hudson et aux baleiniers écossais. Tous étaient à la recherche du mythique passage du Nord-Ouest. Profondément indifférents pendant des siècles à toute cette effervescence, les Inuit savent désormais que cette Histoire fait aussi partie de leur patrimoine.