First solar polar crossing

From the Atlantic to the Pacific, the Northwest Passage

A brief explanation…

The Northwest Passage is a naval route through Arctic Islands in Northern Canada. It unites the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans by a labyrinth of sounds, detroits, and bays, all congested with heavy ice.

In Modern times, the Northwest passage was initially conquered  by the Norwegian  explorer, Roald Amundsen in 1906.

Known Polar expeditions depicting the Northern scenery, date back to Greek Antiquity according to Pythias’ writings (4thCentury B.C.) Unfortunately, the Northwest Passage remained a myth for centuries.  Generations of Mariners attempted to find a navigable route which was discovered only in 1906 when Amundsen succeeded, over a three year period, to cross from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean.

“The Northwest passage is opened. My dream of years has come true. It feels so very strange. I am completely overworked, but I may break down crying… ” (August 25, 1906, Amundsen logbook)

The Amundsen Route (1903 – 1906)

The routes vary, depending on the ice movements

Now a possibility, this naval expedition remains an incredible challenge, difficult because the routes are rare and forever choked with ice. The routes modify their flow through the vast arctic Archipelago along a labyrinth of gulfs, channels and detroits between Baffin Island and Banks land. No map has a true route. From one year to the next, depending on the ice jams and currents, new routes continuously redesign themselves. The completion of such an expedition, following months of determination, depends on the places, the time and circumstances.

A new scenery brought about by Global warming

No doubt, the Arctic is changing. It’s nothing new, having become an important topic of research and conversation. Climate change and the spectacular melting of the polar ice, changed everything. The receding ice during the summer is now a phenomenon explained by more than a yearly variable. Amongst the consequences of this melt is the accessibility of the Northern ports which were closed most of the year because of the vast ice quantities now allow the opening of the Northwest passage to international maritime traffic.

Important economic stakes

Since 2007, the Northwest Passage is generally open during the summer months, attracting just about anyone who can float a vessel. The stakes are high as this channel reduces access between the naval route between Europe and the Far East by more than 4000 kilometres as the present route goes through the Suez Canal. The Beaufort Sea would also be the reserve of a quarter of the world’s oil supply. It is an incredible resource which continuously raises discussions between the USA and Canada regarding both country’s maritime boundaries. What will be left of this mythic passage in 20 years after the ever present cargo ships and Super tankers?

The Route

 

Parcours

Whether they be explorers, sportsmen, scientists, philanthropists or military, the Arctic Explorers use up most of their energy to try and fight the ice, the blizzards, the ocean and the icy deserts. An inuit quote perfectly sums it up :” only time and ice are the ultimate masters.”

1ère traversée solaire polaire

De l’Atlantique au Pacifique…
le Passage Nord Ouest

Pour la petite histoire

Le passage du Nord-Ouest, est un passage maritime qui relie l’océan Atlantique à l’océan Pacifique en empruntant un véritable labyrinthe de terre, d’eau et de glaces à travers les îles arctiques du Grand Nord Canadien.

Franchi pour la première fois par Amundsen en 1906

L’exploration polaire remonte à l’Antiquité comme en témoignent des textes du Grec Pythéas (IV e siècle avant J-C) et qui dépeignent les paysages glacés du Nord.

Mais le Passage du Nord-Ouest est longtemps resté un mythe, et des générations de navigateurs l’ont cherché en vain jusqu’en 1906, lorsque le marin et explorateur polaire norvégien Amundsen l’a pour la première fois franchi dans sa totalité avec son équipage après un voyage de plus de 3 ans.

« Le passage du Nord-Ouest est ouvert. Mon rêve d’enfance vient de se réaliser. Une étrange sensation me prend à la gorge. Je suis surmené et à bout, mais je sens les larmes me monter aux yeux… Voile en vue!… Voile en vue! » (25 août 1906, extrait du journal de bord d’Amundsen)

Route suivie par Amundsen de 1903 à 1906
Les voies s’ouvrent et se ferment au rythme des débâcles et embâcles

Devenu une réalité, ce voyage n’en est pas moins resté un véritable challenge, laborieux car les chemins sont rares et souvent encombrés par les glaces. Ils s’ouvrent et se ferment, se tordent et se déforment à travers l’immense archipel arctique, le long d’un dédale follement compliqué de golfes et chenaux, de bassins et détroits situés entre le territoire de Baffin et la terre de Banks. L’itinéraire n’est tracé sur aucune carte. Et pour cause. D’une année à l’autre, au fil de l’embâcle puis de la débâcle, les glaces dessinent de nouvelles voies et l’aboutissement du voyage au terme de longs mois d’acharnement, dépend des lieux, du temps mais aussi des circonstances.

Un paysage aujourd’hui bouleversé par le changement climatique

Aujourd’hui pourtant, le visage de l’Arctique est définitivement en train de changer. Ce n’est pas nouveau, le monde entier en parle. Le changement climatique et la spectaculaire fonte des glaces polaires qui l’accompagne ont tout bouleversé. Le recul de la banquise en été est désormais un phénomène avéré qui ne peut plus être expliqué par la variabilité naturelle d’une année sur l’autre. Entre autres conséquences de cette évolution de notre climat, la libération des glaces des ports du nord, d’habitude inutilisables en hiver, et l’ouverture du passage Nord-Ouest au trafic maritime international.

Un enjeu économique considérable

Depuis 2007, l’été, le passage du Nord-Ouest est désormais presque ouvert et attire toutes les convoitises. L’enjeu est considérable. L’emprunter permet de raccourcir d’au moins 4 000 kilomètres le trajet maritime actuel entre l’Europe et l’Extrême-Orient passant par le canal de Suez. De plus, la mer de Beaufort renfermerait en son sous-sol jusqu’à un quart des réserves mondiales d’hydrocarbures. Une fantastique richesse qui ne cesse de raviver la querelle entre le Canada et les Etats-Unis sur le tracé de leur frontière maritime. D’ici 20 ans, que restera-t-il alors de ce mythique passage, lorsque les cargos et autres porte-containeurs le sillonneront dans tous les sens ?

Le parcours

Parcours

Qu’ils soient explorateurs, sportifs, scientifiques, philanthropes ou militaires, les aventuriers qui ont parcouru l’Arctique ont tous utilisé une grande part de leur énergie à tenter de dominer la banquise, le blizzard, la mer et les déserts glacés, mais comme le dit un proverbe inuit : » seuls le temps et les glaces sont maîtres. »